Our History

DotEcon Ltd was founded in June 1999 by Dr. Christian Koboldt and Dr. Dan Maldoom, two former academic economists with extensive consulting experience. Since then, DotEcon has grown substantially. However, Christian and Dan remain owners and the company maintains a distinctive and independent approach, free from the burdens of outside shareholders.

We have undertaken more than 300 assignments for more than 120 clients in 50 different countries. Our clients include blue-chip companies and government agencies around the world. We have been heavily involved with applying market mechanisms to allocating public resources such as airport slots and radio spectrum. DotEcon is responsible for significant innovation in auction design and implementation, such as the combinatorial clock auction (now used for auctions by the UK Government and increasingly elsewhere) and the WebBidder auction platform. DotEcon’s work has led to billions of pounds of revenue for governments globally.

DotEcon is also active in competition and regulatory matters. We have worked on many of the leading debates, especially the economics of interconnection and two-sided markets that are central to both telecoms and financial systems. We have produced many research reports for the UK Office of Fair Trading on leading issues in competition policy, as well as assisting private clients around the globe in competition and regulatory disputes.

DotEcon is currently on various government frameworks for procurement and consultancy services including that of the UK Office of Communications (Ofcom), the Danish Business Authority (DBA) in Denmark, the Commission for Communications Regulation (ComReg) in Ireland, the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) and the Post and Telecom Agency (PTS) in Sweden. DotEcon is also on the pan-regulatory framework for UK authorities including, amongst others, the OFT (the UK competition authority), Ofgem (the UK regulator of gas and electricity services), Ofwat (the UK regulator of water services), the CAA (the UK’s civil aviation authority), and NIAUR (the utility regulator of Northern Ireland).